The Secret

I’m a born Catholic. When I turned 12, my life went nuts when we moved across country and then my parents divorced. I started researching other religions and the occult to try to find answers. After a long time, I went back to the Catholic Church, but felt like there was always too much contradiction to be able to refill my cup of faith, so to speak.I remember, while reading the New Testament, I would feel moved – as if God himself was speaking directly to me. It wasn’t a feeling I had now that I was going back to the church.

Like a lot of people, had heard about The Secret and was curious, but it wasn’t until about 5 years ago, that I even bought the book. When I read it, it was amazing. It makes total sense to me… mostly. I had a little trouble wrapping my brain around the living as if I have already received whatever I was asking for. I thought what I wanted to achieve to weigh 150#. I couldn’t wrap my brain around how to ‘act’ as if I was already 150 – it was quite a challenge. It is currently a challenge, but I’m starting to figure it out.

Anyway, the reason I bring this up is because I bought the second book, “The Secret: The Magic.” In essence, it’s a workbook on the actual steps that can be taken to improve your ‘frequency’ and thus, learn to create – I don’t know if I’m explaining it right – to create a better life.

I thought since I am sharing, I would share this undertaking too. I thought with the upheaval of my life, and the inevitable restart, I mind as well relearn how to think. I know that I have been emotionally and verbally abused for years now. My default position is defensive.

Since February, I have been taking Prozac. Reluctant at first, but after about 3 or 4 weeks, I noticed I’m not yelling at the kids as much. I’m not mindlessly eating on the sofa. The biggest thing is that I noticed is that I don’t have to fight myself every moment of every day. I wake up smiling at my kids; during the day, I’m actually singing to myself and with the baby; I’m enjoying my life in spite of the drama-bomb that has currently detonated. My reasoning is: maybe I was struggling with The Secret before because my mindset and conditioning was blocking my way. Now that the Prozac has cleared some of that out (not all of it, but everyday I do feel a little bit more like my old self), I feel more able to grasp the premises that are put forth in The Secret.

Tomorrow will be my first day and the assignment is: before you get up in the morning, make a list of 10 things you are truly grateful for, then feel – really feel – the gratitude as you review each one.

That’s it. That’s day one! So I will post that tomorrow and tell you how it goes.

Thank you so much for reading my little blog! If it’s possible, may I ask for some help? I’m trying to raise funds for my kids’ trip to Hawaii, if you can help out, it would be amazing! If you can’t, please share so maybe someone else can. I really appreciate it either way! Take care everyone!

Leave a Reply

