The Magic: Day 7 – Block Negativity

Today started a little dodgy. Not think any one thing negative — try getting 3 kids up and ready for school 2 weeks before summer break. It wasn’t until later that I found my note (I write the assignments on an index card so I see it when I wake up) that I remembered to bust the negativity.

This book has really made me aware of exactly how negative I am.

SO From here on out, I will be busting my negativity with my ‘but I’m really grateful for…” I think – because of the late start I got on this one – I might string it out an extra day into tomorrow just to make sure I really understand the lesson.

The second part to this assignment is making a list of 10 things that I truly appreciate about a situation in my life that I think negatively about. If you’ve read my bio, then you know I have quite a bit that I should feel negative about! There is one thing that I really feel negative about and that’s my current financial situation. Being a SAHM for the last 2 years, I relied completely on my ex to provide not just for me, but for my kids. I am used to shopping at Target and Kohl’s and having my hair colored, and having elaborate parties for my kids’ birthdays.

Since the break-up, I get nothing. Nothing. Not even gas money to take my kids to school. For my youngest’s birthday, he didn’t even chip in at all, left it all up to me. With help from my neighbors and mom with saving the recycling, donations from my sisters-in-law, and my creative way to create decor, I was able to throw a lovely party for her. I have very negative feelings about the financial situation I’m in.

SO, the gratitude┬álist I’m going to make is regarding my finances. Let’s see how this goes:

  1. I am grateful and thankful that I have re-learned how to know the difference between a ‘need’ and a ‘want.’
  2. I am grateful and thankful for the opportunity to learn about myself more intimately, to appreciate me, to know that I am not my things or what I can buy but that I am who I am without anything influencing me.
  3. I am grateful and thankful that my kids are learning to appreciate things we get because they have to earn the things they want.
  4. I am grateful and thankful for the creativity growth I’ve had. If there’s something I really want, I am learning how to make it or how to live without it.
  5. I am grateful and thankful that I have re-learned to appreciate things that don’t cost money but are priceless to experience, like the sunset, camping, the beach, playing with my kids, and visiting with friends and family.
  6. I am grateful and thankful for quieting my mind (since the distractions are gone) and reacquainting myself with things I consider truly a part of my core as a person. For instance, I forgot how much I enjoy art, everything from painting to history to learning. I am now getting back in touch with that part of me.
  7. I am grateful and thankful that I spend more time with my kids outside at the park instead of going to an expensive entertainment place.
  8. I am grateful and thankful that I have improved my research abilities so I can find deals like anywhere now (before I didn’t give a shit, I just wanted to get what I wanted).
  9. I am grateful and thankful that I have improved my appreciation for money and the possibilities that money can bring.
  10. I am grateful and thankful for being able to create opportunities without depending on money. I am able to be more authentic to who I am now that I have shed the idea that I am nothing without money. An example is I am rockabilly. Very vintage-inspired. For the longest time I wasn’t living who I was because I thought I had to buy Laura Burne or go to vintage stores etc. So I dropped into t-shirts and sweats and depression because I wasn’t living how I felt was really me. I thought I had to go to a salon to have my hair colored. I thought I had to go to a special nail salon for my weekly mani/ pedi. But all those things – though it’s nice to be pampered from time to time – they aren’t a requirement to the rockabilly philosophy. I have no problem coloring my hair at home or giving myself a mani/ pedi at home. I can do those things and I’m okay with putting in the work. And I’m grateful for getting my independent drive back.

Reviewing my list, I really am grateful for all those things. Money makes some things easier, that’s true. But it also clouds the way. Everyone knows there are those people who are only around when they need something or when you have something to offer. This time I’m going through has definitely weeded out the ‘fair-weather friends’ I thought were real friends, which is just another way of purging the distractions from my life.

If you are doing your own ‘The Magic’ and following along with my experiment, you want to focus on things you want, not things you lack. Purge all the negativity out of your statements. For instance, if you get frustrated with BF not taking out the garbage, say, “I am grateful that my BF always gives me support in so many areas of my life.”

I hope I helped anyone out who might need some. Thank you so much for reading my little blog here. I’m trying to raise funds for my kids so if you can, please contribute to my little fund. If you can’t, please share my posts etc – maybe someone else can. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

