What It’s Like Being Treated Like Shit

The worst thing to do is nothing at all.

I had been in my relationship for 16 years when we broke up. Three kids. Stay at home mom. I don’t even have a bank account. I don’t know what my future holds. To top it all off: I get treated like shit.

Everyone has their moments of being nice and being an ass. I’m not talking about that. I’m talking about consistant shitty treatment from the one person that was trusted with my unwavering love: My boyfriend.

Being treated like shit is having to be extra loud just so the kids won’t hear him yell about how much he hates his life.

Being treated like shit is having to keep it together in front of your kids when – after his sarcastic or shitty remark – he then blocks himself in the room behind a locked door. Then, having to explain to a 3 year old why daddy doesn’t open the door when she’s banging on it, “DAD THE DOOR IS STUCK!”

Being treated like shit is when you talk right to him and he just slams the door in your face.

Being treated like shit is when you’re taking out the garbage only to find some of your things or your kids’ things in the garbage because they were, “Taking up too much space.”

Being treated like shit is having to recycle cans for gas money to pick up your kids from school because he won’t even help you there.

Being treated like shit is being called every name in the book for not having a job, then advising that he’s not going to help with childcare costs when you get a job.

Being treated like shit is doing everything you can to keep your shit together and he comes in saying you’re a piece of shit.

Being treated like shit is when you overhear him talking to himself saying, “Just leave and never come back.”

Being treated like shit is when you have nothing coming in so you have to make everything that you can because they are things you need. Like making new pairs of underwear, mending clothes way too many times, making make-up with food products, and cutting your own hair.

Being treated like shit is the worst when you have people tell you they’re there for you but when you ask for help, all of a sudden you stand alone… with three kids depending on you.

Being treated like shit is no matter how hard you try, work, no matter how much effort, there is ALWAYS something you’re going to get yelled at about.

I have heard people say that depression is just a state of mind for lazy people – try being treated like shit for nine years. Then you tell me how it’s all in my head.

Thank you so much for reading my little blog! I’m trying to raise funds for my kids’ trip, if you can contribute, I would appreciate it so much! If you can’t, if you could please share my blog/posts – maybe someone else can. Take care!

One thought on “What It’s Like Being Treated Like Shit

Leave a Reply

