Hawaii: A Reflection

Being in Hawaii was a brilliant experience. When anyone thinks of Hawaii, they think, “Paradise” right? But have you ever heard the phrase: You don’t know how much pain you’re in until you’re not in pain? While in Hawaii, I was not in pain. Now I’m back and I can feel the difference. 

Being surrounded by people who love you and give a shit…. that makes such a difference in your life. See, I don’t have that. I am isolated from my friends, my ex and I (even though we still live in the same house) are as polar opposite as we can be. The person I am closest with lives in Hawaii.

When you’re around enough crazy, you normalize crazy!

My sister and I had quite a few heart-to-hearts to help guide me to a better understanding. Something that resonated with me was that she started to feel at home in Hawaii when she started becoming involved in the community. I am a pro-planet person. I go green (although there is always room for improvement), I recycle, I reuse. I clean up garbage whenever I am out and about. I’m sure those things are awesome but I feel like they are on too small a scale. There is a foundation that I have supported in the past who is amazing. The Surfrider Foundation. I truly believe in their mission and their actions. I have decided to start raising funds for their foundation. Especially in light of this Paris bullshit mess that’s going on right now, I think activism for the environment is one of the best causes.

img_4628

I have set up a new fundraiser at www.youcaring.com/4Hawaii to help with chasing my passion for art and the environment. The inspiration that I’ve found in Hawaii has compelled me to go back there and contribute to their protection of the environment and spread awareness through my art work. I will also be donating 25% of all funds received directly to the SurfRider Foundation to help assist them in their mission to restore and protect our coastlines and environment. I put the link in here in case you would like to donate directly to them.

My intension is to live in Hawaii to follow my passions so I can help more directly. One step at a time, right?

Thank you for reading my blog! It’s your support that keeps me chasing my passions and writing about it! With your contributions, you’re helping me to pursue not only my passions, but 25% of the funds raised get donated to the SurfRider Foundation. These contributions also will help fund the next trip to Hawaii in October 2017, to start connecting to our future. All it takes is a small $10 donation to make a huge difference in our lives. Thank you, thank you, thank you all so much!!

Leave a Reply

