Depression Crafts: The Timer

I’ve been fighting depression for years now. There were times where I wouldn’t shower for weeks. I was a zombie. Though I am on Prozac now, I still struggle with some stuff. I shower now – on a regular basis (yay me) – and I take the kids out to the park pretty often. The Prozac really is pulling it’s weight here with me, but I still struggle with motivation, consistency, and what I call the ‘fuck it’ solution.

In this time, as I’ve been getting mentally stronger, I have been making a list of things that make me happy. I don’t mean like funnel cake happy, but little things that I can do every day to remind myself that life doesn’t suck, it’s mostly the depression. One thing I always enjoyed was doing my make-up.

In this case, I have to thank Jeremy Renner for the inspiration for today’s craft. What you may not know is he used to be a make-up artist. I didn’t know either! Then he was on Ellen… THEN this beautiful meme came out and found it’s way to me. 

His new name is Sir Sassy Pants.

I started really thinking about that comment and I made the connection that I can do anything for 5 minutes. It’s not a huge task; it’s not overwhelming, making me want to crawl back in bed. I can handle 5 minutes of something. Except burpees. Really, fuck the guy who came up with that shit.

I was at a water conservation vendor and received a timer. The idea is that you put the timer in the shower and then you take a 5 minute shower. Yay planet Earth. But since there is no bloody way I could thoroughly wash everything that needs to be washed in under 5 minutes, I decided to re-purpose it.

First, I scratched all the letters off and made the top smooth. I covered the clear plastic with tape that I cut in so I can see the damn timer part.

Then I took it out back and spray painted that fucker. I am JUST now appreciating spray paint. My normal painting medium is acrylic with a surprisingly tiny brush so this spray paint stuff was like BRILLIANT! I have some practicing to do to get the technique down but I got it done!

I peeled off the tape and got out the sharpies – super fine tipped ones. Again, this was a little new to me so…..

I did the best I could. Here is the final outcome! I am happy with it because 1. I didn’t catch anything on fire, and 2. the idea actually works.

It has a suction cup on the back so I have it stuck to my vanity mirror and turn it when I start make-up. I figure, “It’s just five minutes. I can stick it out for five minutes.” Once it becomes a stronger habit, I’ll be able to use the timer for other things I used to think I don’t want to do or I don’t have the energy for…

I can do anything for five minutes. <– Eventually, that will say, “I can do anything.”

Thank you so much for reading my blog! It’s your support that keeps me chasing my passions and writing about it. With your contributions, you’re helping me not only pursue my true self, but 25% of the funds raised are donated to the SurfRider Foundation. It’s the small contributions that will also help fund the next trip to Hawaii in October 2017 as so to start connecting to our future there. Thank you all again so very much!

Leave a Reply

