Living Aloha: A Brilliant Philosophy

While in Hawaii, I was greeted and treated by the most wonderful people. They were open and wonderful to a stranger (me) and was unconditional with their kindness. Not to mention my brilliant sister and my brilliant brother-in-law… they are truly an example of the best people I have ever known. There is one thing that has really stayed with me: Aloha.

Towards the end of my trip, we went to a Luau at Germaine’s Luau. It was AMAZING! But it was more than the performance (I don’t care what it takes, I’m gonna learn to shake my ass like a hula girl), but the people were over-the-top genuine, thoughtful, respectful, fun, engaging, and friendly. Although I’m sure that they see nut fucking tourists (like myself) every minute of everyday, they still were so warm and authentic.

During the show, the host came out and explained what Aloha really is. It’s not just a word to greet people or say good-bye; it’s a whole philosophy about kindness and a specific way for your soul to be, to behave, and live at peace.

That really resonated with me and since I’ve been back, I’ve been researching and meditating on what the idea of Aloha really is. I found a reference to a Mrs. Pilahi Paki (1910-1985) who summed it up a bit easier for me (I’m paraphrasing here):

Aloha is not just a word that means love. It’s a combination of several philosophies.

Akahai – Kindness; To be expressed with tenderness

Lôkahi – Unity; To be expressed with harmony

Olu’olu – Agreeable; to be expressed with pleasantness

Ha’aha’a – Humility; to be expressed with modesty

Ahonui – Patience; to be expressed with perseverance

You use all those philosophies to live your life.

I am still in the beginning of what seems to be a brilliant journey of this ‘Living Aloha’ but I have been so drawn to it, I wanted to incorporate it right away into my blog. The research and the meditation have really helped with my depression! Well, that and the Prozac, I mean let’s be serious here.

Anyway, I am starting T-Shirt campaign for Living Aloha to add to the campaign I’m currently running. Here is a picture of the t-shirt logo. I am expecting the campaign to start Monday, 07/10/17 and it will only run for 3 weeks. The money raised will go to aid in the Hawaii move, you’ll get a cool t-shirt, and of course 25% of what’s raised will be donated to the Surfrider Foundation.

This is the image for the back of the T-shirt. What do you think?

And this is the picture for the front.

 

I need to get a better copy because there’s a white ribbon that goes through the middle of both of those that you can’t see! And I think it’s bitchin!

I will let you know once it’s live but the ETA on that is Monday.

Thank you so much for reading my blog! It’s your support that keeps me chasing my passions and writing about it. With your contributions, you’re helping me pursue not only my true self, but 25% of the funds raised are donated to the SurfRider Foundation. It’s the small contributions that will also help fund the next trip to Hawaii in October 2017 as so to start connecting to our future there. Thank you all again so very much!

2 thoughts on “Living Aloha: A Brilliant Philosophy

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways I am Changing My World | I'm Sorry, but a Mid-Life What?

  2. Pingback: The Living Aloha Campaign | I'm Sorry, but a Mid-Life What?

Leave a Reply

